Bad day at the office for Kenny and the boys

Bad day at the office for Kenny and the boys

Posted on June 28, 2020 in 'Reports'

It was a bad day at the office for ECU Joondalup on Saturday, with the first team and under 18’s being beaten convincingly by Floreat Athena at the ECU Football Stadium.

It was the final hit out of the pre-season and the Jacks welcomed back skipper Johnny Perkins between the sticks, with Ethan Brooks and Tommy Amphlett coming into the starting eleven.

It was an important game for the Jacks with the NPLWA opener against Cockburn City next week, and it was an even opening to the game and it was the Jacks who went close to the opener on 25 minutes.

Bayley Brown-Montgomery found space down the flank, we had options in the box, but he went from goal and dragged a shot wide of the near post.

But on 36 minutes Floreat hit the front. A corner wasn’t dealt with and the ball was returned into the box and former Jacks midfielder Liam Murray scored.

The Jacks looked for an immediate response and had plenty of possession but struggled in the final third. Then on the stroke of half time the visitors doubled their lead.

Floreat skipper Dean Evans first time lob from the half way line caught Perkins off his line and sent them into the break 2-0 to the good.

Head Coach Kenny Lowe made a number of changes at the break and the Jacks were on the front foot early, but on 53 minutes Floreat added a third through Jesse Fuller.

It was 4-0 when Andrew Palmer’s long-range shot deflected off a Jacks defender, before Robert Harding added a fifth just before full time.

Not the result Lowe and his players were looking for, but they will hit the track on Tuesday and prepare in earnest for Saturday home again game against Cockburn City.

The under 18’s were also beaten by Floreat, going down 4-1, while the under 20’s game was called off.

ECU Joondalup – GK Johnny Perkins (RGK Joe Pollard 46’), 4 Riley Warland, 5 Ryan Lowry (16 Shane Cassidy 60’), 6 Sami Riak (21 Matthew Dench 60’), 7 Danny Hodgson, 8 Luke Bodnar (14 Ewan Fawcett 60’), 9 Bayley Brown-Montgomery (12 Ben Hinshelwood 46’), 10 Andy Higgins, 11 Ethan Brooks (2 Luke Rhodes 46’), 13 Tommy Amphlett (3 Harry Evans 46’), 15 Callum Timmins (18 Tom Hough 60’),

Subs not used: Nil