ECU edge out NTC

ECU edge out NTC

Posted on August 10, 2013 in 'Reports'

ECU Joondalup won for the first time since May 4th, when they beat the Football West National Training Centre 3-2 at the ECU Arena on Saturday.

The 4-1 win against Balcatta in week 7 was the last time the club had celebrated a win and Coach Dale McCulloch is determined for ECU Joondalup to build on victory. Goals from Ryan Townsend, substitute Tanner Selyer and Tommy Amphlett and gained McCulloch his first victory as senior coach. “We’re hoping to get better and better (and) we’re also looking at giving more game time to the younger boys,” said McCulloch, who admitted his disappointment at allowing the NTC back into the game. “To go 2-1 up and give away a sloppy penalty is pretty disappointing but at the end of the day it’s three points, so I’ll take that.”

The opened exchanges went pretty much as planned for Joondalup, albeit without finding the back of the net. Dave Caine was through with only Jordan Franken to beat but the NTC goalkeeper struck out a leg to deny his opponent. Franken came up trumps again soon after with a terrific reflex save to keep out Tommy Jones’ shot at close-range.

But against the run of play NTC hit the front. Captain Borbor Sambini cut in from the left and lashed into the far bottom corner of Andy Banks net for a surprise lead after 27 minutes. However, parity was soon restored by Townsend, who cleverly poked the ball over Franken after the visiting side failed to clear an Amphlett free-kick.

Selyer’s introduction early in the second period ensured Joondalup would continue to create openings. The hosts’ attacking approach was rewarded with a second goal just after the hour, Selyer punishing his markers slip by slotting calmly past the Franken. Like earlier the lead lasted only a few minutes, Jack Oldham’s foul on Sambindi prompting referee Hugh Best to point to the penalty spot from where Mohammed Beyan made it two-all. Joondalup snared the deciding goal with only ten minutes to spare, Selyer accelerating in behind the defence before cutting the ball back for Amphlett to thread into the net from 12-metres.

ECU Joondalup 3 (Townsend 30’, Selyer 63’, Amphlett 80’)

NTC 2 (Sambini 27’, Beyan PEN 65’)

ECU Joondalup – GK Andy BANKS, 2 Jack OLDHAM, 4 Charlie COMYN-PLATT, 5 Ryan LOWRY, 6 Jon STYNES, 7 Dave CAINE, 8 Joe SMITH, 9 Tommy JONES (17 Tanner SELYER 52’), 13 Tommy AMPHLETT, 14 Joe KNOWLES (11 Genaveo HUMAN 56’), 15 Ryan TOWNSEND – Substitutes not used – RGK Todd HOYLE, 12 Gareth CRAWLEY, 16 Dejan SPASESKI

Yellow cards: Amphlett 31’

NTC – GK Jordan FRANKEN, 2 Kieran COLWELL, 4 Jeremy TSHONGO, 5 Ali GHOLAMI, 6 Shazalee RAMLEE, 7 Mohammed BEYAN, 8 Calvin WHITNEY (3 Josh TUCKER 70’), 9 Darcy COSGROVE, 10 Nick AMBROGIO (14 Pearse McKEE 45’), 11 BorBor SAMBINI, 15 Sam McKEARNEN (18 Waliedin  Juma ISMAIL 75’) – Substitutes not used – RGK Ryan BARKER

Yellow cards: Ismail 90+1’

Referee: Hugh Best