Hat-Trick to Selyer as ECU stuns Bayswater

Hat-Trick to Selyer as ECU stuns Bayswater

Posted on April 10, 2012 in 'Reports'

New recruit Tanner Selyer celebrated his first start for ECU Joondalup by guiding his team to a 3-2 win over Bayswater City at Frank Drago Reserve.  (Report and Photo by Brett Klucznik)

The New Zealand striker scored all three goals against a Bayswater outfit which enjoyed the better of possession over 90 minutes but was unable to convert their numerous chances in front of goal.   Post-game, Joondalup’s caretaker coach Steve Amphlett was ecstatic with his teams’ first win of the campaign.   “The lads were fantastic.   We’ve had our problems (but) there’s a great atmosphere and we proved a lot of people wrong,” he said.   “ We’ve gone out and done a good job against what we perceive to be the title favourites to win the league.”

The northern suburbs club were on the offensive from the outset and with six minutes gone Tommy Jones returned a partially cleared corner into the 18-yard box where Selyer’s glancing header flashed into Gianni Papalia’s net.   With this the home team came to life and on 10 minutes Gustavo Giron-Marulanda stung Andy Banks gloves with a vicious strike from the top of the area.   Play swung wildly from one end to the other as the teams sought to assert themselves, Rob Draper’s attempt was cleared off the line by Thomas Gooding before Banks stood firm to deflected away Gustavo Catarcione’s effort.

Through some lovely one and two touch passing, it was Bayswater that gained the upper hand.   Banks was out quickly to narrow the angle after Jack Wilkinson got free of the defence, Gooding’s low centre passed along the top of the six-year box without a team mate insight, and then Catarcione’s drive from 18-metres was brilliantly tipped over by the Joondalup custodian.   Those misses were punished on 33 minutes when Michael Currie’s corner came off several players before being volleyed in at the far post by Selyer.   Giron-Marulanda should have equaliser before the break but unbelievably scooped over the crossbar after meeting Patrick Quinn’s low centre.

Bayswater resumed the ascendency after the interval with Giron-Marulanda’s explosive drive deflected away and Wilkinson rifling wide of the target.   Their reward finally arrived in the 67th minute when Giron-Marulanda sent Banks the wrong way from the penalty spot following Shane Doyle’s foul on Catarcione.

Two minutes later Currie launched a long ball out of defence which Selyer latched on to and slotted past Papalia in a one-on-one to restore Joondalup’s two-goal buffer.   Bayswater refused to give up hope and in the 74th minute Joe Yoffe clipped over the defence for Catarcione, who chested the ball down before stroking past the advancing ‘keeper.

The closing stages were dominated by Bayswater who drove forward time and time again in a desperate search to equalise.   Despite being outnumbered, Giron-Marulanda worked himself into space only to have Banks turn his 82nd minute shot away.

As the pressure mounted Bayswater’s delivery into the final third began sloppier while their finishing was highlighted by high strikes from Catarcione and substitute Ross Cossgrove.   Twice in three minutes Selyer could have sealed the win on the counterattack but on each occasion the young striker placed wide of the far post having got the ball past Papalia.

Bayswater City Soccer Club 2 (Francisco JORDUERA 67′, Gustavo CATARCIONE 74′)

ECU Joondalup Soccer Club 3 (Tanner SELYER 6′, 33′, 69′)

Saturday 7 April 2012

Frank Drago Reserve, Bayswater

Local Kick Off: 2pm

Referee: Phil Traianedes

Bayswater City: GK Gianni PAPALIA,  2 Cesar GONZALEZ, 3 Larry MILLER, 4 John KEARNEY, 5 Patrick QUINN, 6 Jack WILKINSON (13 Ross COSGROVE 63′) , 7 Stephen TURNBULL, 8 Thomas GOODING (14 Joe YOFFE 57′), 9 Gustavo MARULANDA, 10 Francisco JORQUERA, 11 Gustavo CATARCIONE – Substitutes not used: 12 David SESAY, 15 Mundy TOURE, 16 Nathan DIAZ

Yellow Cards: Francisco JORQUERA 40′, Patrick QUINN 47′

ECU Joondalup: GK Andy BANKS, 2 Shane DOYLE, 3 Michael CURRIE, 4 Dale McCULLOCH, 5 Mark TEBBUT, 6 Michael ADAMCEWFEZ, 7 Scott BUSHBY, 8 Rob DRAPER (15 Steve SOKOL 77′), 9 David FOSTER (13 John STARK 59′), 10 Tommy JONES, 11 Tanner SELYER – Substitutes not used: RGK Ellis COMPTON, 14 Scott BLACKMORE, 16 Liam CHAPMAN,

Yellow Cards: Rob DRAPER 24′, Shane DOYLE 39′, Tommy JONES 40′