Cockburn City first up for Jacks in 2017 Night Series

Cockburn City first up for Jacks in 2017 Night Series

Posted on January 3, 2017 in 'News'

The 2017 season will kick-off on January 20th with a knockout-style QBE National Premier Leagues WA Night Series, and first up for the Jacks is Cockburn City (Venues are to be confirmed)

Football West have added a new format to the pre-season competition, and will add a nail-biting edge to every match over a four-week period that will lead into an expanded regular PlayStation 4 NPLWA season.

The Jacks lost 0-4 to Cockburn away last season in the league, but beat Scott Miller’s side 3-1 at the ECU Football Stadium later in the season.

Jacks Coach Dale McCulloch said the players have worked really hard in the pre-season and he’s looking forward to the pre-season competition. “We’ve been really happy the way the players have returned to pre-season training and we are raring to go in 2017,” he said.

“We will put our best squad into the Night Series games, starting with Cockburn, but we will also have a look at some of the new players that have come on board this season, and if pre-season is anything to go by, we’ve got some great young players pushing for a start.

“The night series is a great opportunity for me to work on a few things and we will be doing that, but we’ll be looking to the players to make their mark and show me they want that ECU shirt for the first league game of the season.”

In other game NPL newcomers Joondalup United and Mandurah City will face each other, Sorrento meet Perth Glory, Armadale take on Subiaco, Floreat Athena meet Balcatta, while there is an Italian derby with Bayswater City taking on NPL Champions Perth SC. Inglewood United and Stirling Lions have a first-round bye

The next round of fixtures will be drawn on Monday, 23 January 2017, following the completion of Round 1.

Round one fixtures: (Venues are to be confirmed)

Sorrento v Perth Glory, ECU Joondalup v Cockburn City, Bayswater City v Perth SC, Joondalup United v Mandurah City, Armadale v Subiaco, Floreat Athena v Balcatta – First round bye: Inglewood United and Stirling Lions