ECU Joondalup Juniors placed in Group B of re-vamped NPL

ECU Joondalup Juniors placed in Group B of re-vamped NPL

Posted on February 20, 2016 in 'News'

This week Football West have announced an expanded Junior National Premier Leagues competition, which will consist of two groups of 10 teams with the top four from each to contest an end-of-season finals series in 2016.

ECU Joondalup have been placed in Group B along with Balcatta, Sorrento, Inglewood United, Bayswater City, Stirling Lions, Joondalup City, Melville City, Rockingham City and South West Phoenix.

In order to select two groups of equal standing, Football West created a ‘Championship’ table by aggregating points gained in the U12, U13, U14, U15 and U16 NPLWA competitions in 2015. The clubs were ranked on their points total and then sorted into two groups of six, according to odd and even placings. In the absence of a similar table for the eight new Junior NPL clubs, all were considered of equal standing and were ranked based on geographic location from furthest north to southern most club. They were then split into two groups of four, again using odd and even placings.

ECU Director of Football Steve Amphlett said it’s better than the 19 team format they came up with last season and it’s the best you can have, but the club still have some reservations. “After reading Football West’s press release it looks better than last season’s competition, but as a club we still have a few issues,” he said. “This is the elite league for junior football in the state and it should be the best teams playing against each other and competition will be intense each week, which will only increase the competitive edge to the games. But saying that we’re looking forward to the new format and continuing our growth.”

The Junior NPL has been expanded from 12 clubs to expose more players to the competition’s benefits, including requirements for players to be coached by accredited personnel. The new clubs are Quinns, Joondalup City, Ellenbrook, Melville City, Fremantle City, Rockingham City, Mandurah City and South West Phoenix. Fixtures for the home-and-away season will be confirmed in coming weeks.

Teams will play all other teams in their group in home and away fixtures before the Junior Finals, in which the top four teams in each age group will play against the top teams in the other group (eg. first versus fourth, and second against third) at the quarter-finals stage. Winners will progress to semi-finals and grand finals.

The Groups are as follows: Group A: Perth SC; Perth Glory; Subiaco; Armadale; Cockburn City; Floreat Athena; Quinns FC; Ellenbrook; Fremantle City; Mandurah City.

Group B: ECU Joondalup; Balcatta; Sorrento; Inglewood United; Bayswater City; Stirling Lions; Joondalup City; Melville City; Rockingham City; South West Phoenix.