Joondalup meet Ashfield in Night Series Opener

Joondalup meet Ashfield in Night Series Opener

Posted on January 24, 2014 in 'News'

ECU Joondalup begins their 2014 Football West Night Series campaign when they take on First Division side Ashfield in Group E at Kingsway Reserve on Saturday (6pm).

It’s a huge season for the club with the new WA National Premier League kicking off, and Coach Dale McCulloch has been happy the way the side is going in pre-season and believes the Night Series is a good opportunity to take a look at some players in different positions.

“The game against Ashfield will be tough as they have a good side, as it showed last season when they reached the Cup Final. It’s also our first competitive game of the season so we’re looking forward to see where we are at, and it will give me the opportunity to have a look at some players,” said McCulloch.

The Coach is delighted to have picked a number of quality players up for the 2014 season, and has been impressed with the players’ attitude. “Pre-season is going well, and we are putting together a very healthy squad. We have a good blend of experience and youth. We have added a number of players to the squad from last season, David Foster, Shaun Timmins, Brad Burgess, Jake Benson-Cooper and Jordan Dodd, which will make our squad stronger for the season ahead.”

ECU Joondalup Squad – GK Andy Banks, Ryan Lowry, Shaun Timmons, Charlie Comyn-Platt, Ryan Townsend, Jon Stynes, David Caine, Joe Smith, David Foster, Andy Higgins, Jon Higgins, Dejan Speseski, Tommy Amphlett, Ryan McDarby, Scott Blackmore, Genaveo Human, Jake Benson-Cooper, Gareth Crawley, Bradley Burgess, Tim Doyle, Lachlan Bechtold, Jack McMaster, Jack Cairns, Jordan Dodds

Ashfield Squad – GK John Perkins, RGK Alex Sutton, Matt Wardle, James Duncan, Graham Tough, Nick Davies, Mark Donnelly, Chris Thackray, Tom Kennedy, Jay Lang, Ian McKean, Aaron Colli, Ruben Tristaio, Michael Bazcynski, Luke Colli, James Wour, Mladen Kovacevic, Ryan Frisina, James Burns, Ryan Fielder, Karl O’Reily, Bobby Irving, Barry Richards, Nathan Thorp, Matt Worton,