ECU Joondalup under 12’s head to Sydney

ECU Joondalup under 12’s head to Sydney

Posted on October 4, 2013 in 'News'

ECU Joondalup under 12’s have flown to Sydney to take part in the 2013 Australia stage of the Volkswagen Junior Masters.

The 20 team tournament is to played at the Sydney Academy of Sport in Narrabeen from Saturday 5th – Sunday 6th October, and the Grand Final will be played on Sunday at 1-15pm., and also representing the state in is Balcatta FC.

Coach John Higgins Snr and the players are looking forward to the tournament. “It’s a great opportunity for the boys to play against teams from all over Australia,” he said.

“We have been drawn in a tough game with Buderim Wanderers (Qld), Bossley Sports Club (NSW), Georges River FC (NSW) and Spring Hills FC (Vic), but we are ready for the challenge. I’ve told the boys to go out and enjoy it and we’ll see how we go.”

First up for the side is Georges River at 9am on Saturday, followed an hour and a half later by a game against Bossley Sports. Then at 12 noon they meet Spring Hills. On Sunday they finish the Group stage with a game against Buderim Wanderers

Go to this web page for the fixtures and results –

Volkswagen Junior Masters is one of the biggest and most popular youth football tournaments in the world. It gives under-12 boys’ club football teams from across the country the chance to represent Australia in the world finals, competing against over twenty teams from around the globe.

The 2013 Volkswagen Junior Masters Australia will be held at the Sydney Academy of Sport, in Narrabeen, NSW, on 5th – 6th of October.

The winners of the tournament will represent Australia at the 2014 Volkswagen Junior World Masters will be held in Rome, Italy. They will have the chance to compete against teams from over 20 countries around the world in the same stadiums that have hosted A.S. Roma, Inter Milan and AC Milan.

Full list of the groups

Group A – Northcote City SC (Vic), Belconnen FC (ACT), Northern Tigers FC (NSW), Brisbane City FC (QLD), Adelaide Raiders SC (SA)

Group B – Peninsula Strikers JFC (VIC), BDSA Metro Juniors FC (VIC), Fraser Park FC (NSW), Adelaide City SC (SA), Pine Hills FC (QLD)

Group C – Buderim Wanderers (QLD), Bossley SC South (NSW), Georges River FC (NSW), ECU Joondalup (WA), Spring Hills FC (VIC)

Group D – Nunawading City FC (VIC), South Hobart FC (TAS), Box Hill United SC (VIC), Fairfield Hotspurs SC (NSW), Balcatta SC (WA)