Joondalup trio selected in WA State Squad

Joondalup trio selected in WA State Squad

Posted on August 18, 2012 in 'News'

ECU Joondalup’s Tommy Amphlett, John Higgins and David Foster have been selected in the WA State Squad to take on Perth Glory in two games; the first is at Intiga stadium next Tuesday (6.45pm)

Unfortunately Amphlett has withdrawn from the squad, due to personal reasons; but Joondalup Coach Salv Todaro is delighted for Higgins and Foster. “David Foster’s good form during the year has paid off with selection in the squad. He has scored some excellent goals this year and has been pivotal in the team’s fight to avoid relegation,” explained Todaro.

“John is a quality performer and his steadying influence in the middle of the park in the second half of the season has contributed to the improved performance of the team, I’m delighted for both of them.”

There are plenty of new faces in the squad, with eight teams represented from the local Premier League.

The team has managed two training sessions together at Intiga Stadium and will be looking to pull off a major scalp against the 2011/12 Hyundai A-League runners-up.

“Yeah, I’m really looking forward to it – looking forward to working with some really good players as well,” said coach Kenny Lowe.

“I think the big thing for me is that every player that I called said ‘yes’.

“Whether we can win a game is maybe an unrealistic target, but we’ll be certainly trying to do that.”

Several players will be unavailable due to participating in next weekend’s State Cup Final and some niggling injuries, so standby players will be brought in to fill a squad.

The match will be a special fundraiser for Mount Lawley Primary School after it tragically burnt down, with part proceeds from the match going directly to the school. The P&C will also raise money with a sausage sizzle on the night.

Perth Glory v WA State Team

Tuesday, August 21

Intiga Stadium, Hamer Parade Inglewood

Kick-off 6.45PM

Adults $5 with kids 15 and under FREE

2012 WA State Team Squad

1 GK Curtis Aspden (Sorrento)

2 Jack Clisby (Inglewood United)

3 Adam Bachiller (Perth)

4 Jason Gavin (Stirling Lions)

5 Spencer Harris (Floreat Athena)

6 John Higgins (ECU Joondalup)

7 Daniel Micevski (Balcatta)

8 Ryan Clarke (Inglewood United)

9 Gustavo Giron-Marulanda (Bayswater City)

10 Cisco Jorquera (Bayswater City)

11 Gustavo Catarcione (Bayswater City)

12 David Foster (ECU Joondalup)

13 Tommy Amphlett (ECU Joondalup)

14 Ludovic Boi (Floreat Athena)

15 Antonio Naglieri (Perth)

16 GK Devon Spence (Inglewood United)

17 Patrick Quinn (Bayswater City)

18 John Kearney (Bayswater City)

19 Steve Turnbull (Bayswater City)

20 Reece Vittiglia (Sorrento)

21 Mark Pritchard (Floreat Athena)

22 Ryan Pearson (Sorrento)

23 Greg Sharland (Perth)

24 David Micevski (Balcatta)