ECU duo selected for WA state team to face Glory

ECU duo selected for WA state team to face Glory

Posted on June 25, 2011 in 'News'

ECU Joondalup duo John Higgins and Andy Banks have been selected in a strong 18-man Western Australian squad to take on A-League side Perth Glory at the nib Stadium on July 5th.

Coach Syd Amphlett wishes them well. “It’s a great reward for both players, who have been superb this season for us,” said Amphlett.

“Both have shown great leadership at ECU and Andy Petterson and I wish them all the best against the Glory, as long they don’t come back with an injury!!.”

WA State team coach Robbie Dunn has selected an 18-player squad to take on Perth Glory and the former Socceroo has handpicked the best available players from the All Flags State League, with a strong emphasis on selecting as much home grown talent as possible.

Dunn will be joined with fellow assistant coaches Peter Murphy and Andy Thorburn, with fellow ex-Socceroo Rob Zabica as goalkeeper coach.

Last night saw the team train together for the first time and Dunn was pleased with how the session went.

“The coaching staff has been watching the games closely and we believe that between us, we have come up with a crop of in-form players that can give a good account of themselves against the Glory,” he said.

“We want to show that the All Flags State League has some good quality players that can and should be knocking on the door for selection at A-League clubs.

“Having only two sessions with the lads is not ideal, but their enthusiasm last night leads me to believe that they won’t be pushovers and that the players will give a good account of themselves against the exciting new Glory squad.

“I believe that Ian Ferguson has put together one of the best playing list at Glory for many years recruiting some top quality players and I am sure he will appreciate a good run out before the Celtic game and the WA boys will surely do this on the night for him and of course for themselves and Football West as a whole.”

The WA State team will next train on Wednesday 29 June at BGC Stadium – Dorrien Gardens, before the match on Tuesday 5 July at nib Stadium, with kickoff at 7pm.


GK Andy Banks – ECU Joondalup, GK Oliver Taseski – Inglewood United, Greg Sharland – Perth SC, Trent Kay – Perth SC, Cormac Dawson – Western Knights, David Annall – Western Knights, Luka Jukic – Western Knights, James Morgan – Western Knights, Bobby Wilson – Stirling Lions, Michael Pugliese – Stirling Lions, Andy Brown – Stirling Lions, Stephen Burton – Balcatta, Mark Pritchard – Floreat Athena, Jarrad Smith – Floreat Athena, Jason Mirco – Sorrento, George Tchami – Bayswater City, Matt Barlow – Armadale, John Higgins – ECU Joondalup,

Coach – Robbie Dunn

Assistant Coach – Andy Thorburn  and Peter Murphy

Team Manager – Chris Beech

Goalkeeper Coach – Rob Zabica